Making the most of my "Dash"

Mister & Missy

This is going to sound down-right bizarre to some of you, but I can honestly say that over the past year or so I have wished I could look older.  Yes, you read that right, OLDER.  As in, I wish I had some gray hairs or I wish I had more wrinkles.  Yes, seriously.  Many people have assumed that I am much younger than I really am.  Even by about 10 years.  I used to be very pleased by that, because I figured it would serve me [read: my vanity] better when I got older.  Interesting that now I want to be the opposite of too-young looking.

This is all for a really silly reason too:  I wish I could fit in better with Mister.  He’s going to probably going to roll his eyes at me when he reads that.  Don’t misunderstand, we fit great, Mister and I.  When I’m with him, I don’t see an age difference at all and neither does he.  He’s my Mister, and I’m his Missy.  He completes my sentences, and even speaks my thoughts before I utter them (sometimes to my great annoyance) and vice versa.  It’s just that sometimes I know people are a bit “surprised” by us.  I know we get ‘looks’ too.  Those used to bother me much more than they do now.  He’s fairly well oblivious to them, and I’ve started to be as well, but still… there’s something about “looking” like you belong where you are.  Mister is REALLY going to huff at me about that last comment too.

I know, I know, what other people think doesn’t matter.  However, when I walk into the Elks or the Eagles with him, I am more aware than usual of the looks.  Clearly, I know they’re coming from judgmental older broads who really need to get a life (and usually that’s always where the looks always come from, no matter where we are).  But still, I wish for strands of gray hair to mingle with the red.  I even went so far as to ask my hair stylist if she could streak some in.  Yes, I really did. And, no, she didn’t put them in.

Nickle-Holders... SCARY!!

However, I have noticed some more wrinkles lately.  At first my vanity got the better of me and protested at the all of the wrinkles around my eyes that seemingly cropped up overnight.  I mean, where the heck did they come from all at once?!  I used to have a line or two, but now it looks like a massive flock of birds left their little feetsie-prints around my eyes!  Then I noticed something else.  I could hardly see my nickle-holders.  That’s what Mister calls the two deep grooves that appear on my forehead when I frown.  Yeah, you can see those bad boys above ^^.  Nasty, aren’t they?  I used to frown, a lot.  The kids used to see that, a lot. Too much.

My lovely crows-feet

I realized today that I have traded my nickle-holders for some crows-feet.  They’re not too deep, yet, but they will be soon enough. And you know what?  I’m really GLAD about that.  My vanity can hit the road, because I know why those wrinkles I wanted are finally there.  It’s because I’m happy.  Mister makes my life happy.  I no longer have to carry the entire burden and stress that Life brings, and deal with it all by myself.  I have a partner who has taken half the burden, and we deal with everything together.  As a result, the kids no longer have an angry, frustrated and irritated mom.  I laugh more now.  I LIVE now.

I’ll take those crows feet over nickle-holders any day of the week! They’re mine and I know what every line means.  And I love that.

Enjoying my starting-to-get-wrinkles Dash

Christine

Comments on: "Nickle-Holders or Crows Feet?" (14)

  1. Nuthinspecial said:

    You crack me up lil mom! 🙂

  2. You look wonderful! But I never get excited over a wrinkle…I should try! I might save more money instead of wasting it on face creams 😉

    • Thank you! I figured it’s better to find a reason to be happy for those particular wrinkles, rather than freak out that they finally arrived. I won’t be so excited when the marionette lines arrive though… LOL

  3. Your daughter in law "Jill" said:

    So funny. Growing older is great! Soon we don’t have to apologize for are bad behavior lol! You look fantastic as a couple no matter what others may think. You love each other dearly and that’s all that matters. Plus Brad looks pretty young yet and I think you have taken some age off of him, because he is truly happy!! Love to you both keep growing those lines girl 🙂 I’m right with you !

    • Aww, Jill!!! This is the greatest comment! I think Brad looks pretty young yet too! Jan V. told me on facebook the other day that they are not crows-feet, but smile lines. So I’ll be sure to call them that too!

      P.S. I CAN’T WAIT UNTIL NOVEMBER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Love you!

    • P.S.S. I just noticed how you did your name, daughter-in-law… LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Nuthinspecial said:

    OK lil mom…… I heard a song on the radio this morning that made me laugh out loud and think of your “aging” dilema. I think it was an old Alan Jackson song, anyway, I busted up when i heard the line about “cigarettes, jack Daniels and caffein.” You know those women at, well lets see…..I’ll be polite here, you know, the women at certain “clubs” (*wink, wink*) that are are actually 20+ years younger than they look? Well I’m nearly certain cigarettes, jack Daniels and caffein played a role in their success at adding 20 years. Hope that helps in your quest to age slightly less gracefully. 🙂

    • LMAO… I was laughing so hard reading this! I think you have the “quick-aging remedy” down pat, but I think I’ll pass on that one. As soon as Josh reaches driving age, I’ll probably age ten years the first week he gets his drivers license!!!!

  5. misterofthedash said:

    Tell Josh that the summer (in California) is the best time to learn how to drive. Some aging needs to go on there…but not here.

  6. Nuthinspecial said:

    LOL don’t be a wimp now, if I survived teaching Ashley to drive, I think you guys can handle Josh…….number one he’s My lil bro, and number two……he’s a boy, duh, piece of cake! 🙂

  7. misterofthedash said:

    Hey! Who better than a professional truck driver to teach his little brother how to drive? We voted; you won Bro….!!!!!

  8. Nuthinspecial said:

    I’d gladly teach him, in fact, do you think Josh could reach my throttle? No need to reach the clutch, I’ll teach him how to float the gears like I do, but he’ll need to be able to reach the throttle. Maybe I could duct tape some wood blocks to the throttle?
    Stuck in Tennessee for a 34hr reset watching the world series by the way. Not very often I run I40 and need a restart before reaching the west coast, but I thought I better give you a break so I’m taking it in TN this time. 🙂 Plus Jill would kill me!

    • I think I just aged 10 years THINKING about Josh driving your rig. O_O

      Well, we DON’T need a break, but I do completely believe that Jill would kill you, rightfully so… LOL

Hey there!! Tell me what you think...

Tag Cloud

