Making the most of my "Dash"

Josh is SO busted!

Oh Josh... We found your MESS

As I was typing up the “Company’s Coming” blog, Mister went to check Josh’s room for me to make sure it was “Company Ready”.  I had JUST told Mister how good the kids have been lately about keeping their rooms straightened up.  See, every night before bedtime we do room inspections.  Every morning before school, we do room inspections.  They usually have scraps of paper on the floor (I have no idea WHY, since they have a trash can in their room, for crying out loud!).  There are the usual stray socks, pencils, erasers, shoes, etc.

However, I haven’t had to get on them so much about that stuff anymore, and I was feeling PROUD of them for being more responsible.  Apparently, I wasn’t “inspecting” the right part of Josh’s room.  That kid had a nasty pile of trash, toys, pencils, pens, erasers, you-name-it-and-it-was-there on the other side of his bed.  Oh, and STUFFED ANIMALS. Did I mention Josh was 11?!  (Yes, Josh, I put that out there to annoy/humiliate you as is my Motherly Right when you try to be sneaky!!) He also blamed his 15 year old sister, Megan, when he ran out of socks saying she didn’t do the laundry. Nope. Not true.  He had stashed them along with the trash beside his bed.

Momma was NOT pleased!

Now, I made a nice pile of it on his floor specifically to take a picture for this blog.  Normally, I would have left it there for him to clean up when he gets back home.  However, company saved his little butt from cleaning it, because I just did it.  AND ALMOST BURNED THE COOKIES BECAUSE OF IT.  So. not. okay.

Being the oh-so-nice mom that I am, Josh may now find that he is missing some tiny Lego pieces (thank the Lord because I hate stepping on those stupid things).  He also may find other stuff missing too.  Like, oh…say…. 39 clues cards, Pokemon cards, Bakugan cards as well as a few Bakugans, and Bey BLade peices, just to name a few.  You really should keep your stuff put up where they belong kiddos, because when Momma has a chance to get rid of those annoying toys… She. Is. Gonna. Take. It.

Period. Full Stop. End of Story.

Not all days in the dash are unicorns and rainbows… (especially for Josh)

Christine

Comments on: "Josh is SO busted!" (5)

  1. My girls are 7 and 5 and they just started getting the real Legos, the little ones that hurt like all heck when stepped on. They were told the moment they got their first set that if I step on a single one I will throw away every Leggo in the house. This mama don’t play with kid’s toys hurting her feet. And those girls know it is the truth. They’ve seen me toss toys before for the same reason. lol

  2. Aww.. thanks!

    Oh, and I totally drill sergeant in their room nightly. Like I will crawl under beds, look behind things, check closets… lol They are finally learning to clean it right the first time because it sucks having to do it over and over because they half-assed it. It’s at the point now when they come out and say their room is clean that I ask “Is it clean how I like it?” For about 2 weeks I was answered with “Let me go check” from my oldest. Now I get “Yes, Mom. You can go check if you want.” I love that. lol

    Now, if I can just get them to make their beds… but I rarely make my own, so I don’t stress it that much.

  3. I wonder is Josh is somehow related to The Man? He’s a piler. I’ve learned to live with his piles (sounds like I need Preparation H), but we compromised about where the piles live. Since I’m generally a basket case, I’ve given him strategically placed basket for his piles. Eventually those overflow and I request “pile maintenance.” I try to ask nicely and give him a few days notice. Bottom line: December was a slob. And now May is a little more messy if you get my drift 😉

    • I like the basket idea! I actually used to be more disorderly before my December came along. Simply because I had to pick and choose my battles with the kids and messiness. However, he’s gotten all of us in the habit of being a lot neater. With the exception of Josh’s hiding place. I probably should go check the girls’ rooms, now that I’m thinking about it… :/

Hey there!! Tell me what you think...

Tag Cloud

